WATSONVILLE, CALIF. (May 14, 2021) – Battling a field full of fresh faces and enthusiasm for the growing Western Midget Racing presented by Masters Design and Construction season, Fresno’s David Prickett affirmed his place at the top of the pedestal. Prickett earned his 15th career win in the production-powered Midget series on Friday night at Ocean Speedway in Watsonville, Calif. The win opened a two-night weekend for the series with a stop on Saturday at Petaluma Speedway on tap.

Stockton’s John Sarale won the first heat race and was part of a four-pronged debut effort into the series from car owner Kevin Felkins. Brentwood’s Blake Bower won the second heat race.

The 20-lap feature started with Antioch’s Shawn Arriaga losing a wheel as he entered turn one. Sarale took over the top position while Bower bicycled trying to pass on the inside. Prickett attempted a two-for-one on Sarale and Bower before cautions flew for Gary Dunn spun in turn four.

Both Prickett and 2020 Delta Speedway Micro champion Caden Sarale passed Bower on the restart. Prickett then worked up the inside to take the lead on lap seven. Prickett drove ahead for the victory while John Sarale used the outside line to roll ahead of his son Caden for second. Bower and Lodi’s Nate Wait rounded out the top-five.

Western Midget Racing continues on Saturday night at Petaluma Speedway, with tickets available or fans can view the action on

For more information on Western Midget Racing, visit them at or follow them on Facebook!

Western Midget Racing is presented by: Masters Design and Construction, Rockwell Security, Rams Racing, Hoosier Racing Tire, Extreme Mufflers, FTK, King Racing Products, and BR Motorsports.

May 14, 2021 – Ocean Speedway (Watsonville, Calif.) Results

HEAT 1 (8 laps) – 1. 35SR John Sarale; HEAT 2 (8 laps) – 1. 9 Blake Bower

FEATURE (20 laps) – 1. 22Q-David Prickett[4]; 2. 35SR-John Sarale[1]; 3. 35S-Caden Sarale[3]; 4. 9-Blake Bower[2]; 5. 58-Nate Wait[8]; 6. 35L-JJ Loss[11]; 7. 29-Cory Brown[5]; 8. 8K-Kala Keliinoi[13]; 9. 17-Megan Moorhead[10]; 10. 6-Gary Dunn[7]; 11. 0FG-Jon Santibanes[9]; 12. 35-Shawn Arriaga[6]; 13. (DNS) 10-Antonia Boscacci

NEXT RACE: May 15 Petaluma Speedway (Petaluma, Calif.)